Archive for October 8, 2008

London Calling

Since reading the programme outline for the module of ‘Cultures of Multimedia Authoring & Web Design’ and being concerned about my lack of technical skills as far as web development goes, i have decided to run away to London.

Don’t worry though, my getaway is to pursue knowledge in the form of a favor from a good friend who is more au fait with web development, CSS, HTML, Javascript and all that other complicated stuff. His website is www.designsex.co.uk. We often get together with plenty of coffee and chat about projects and ideas. Its good to have a friend like that. 

I also have another friend and colleague who might be able to throw a few skills my way, as he’s a whizz kid in all things coded. His blog site is available at www.mrwelsh.co.uk

The outcome for this module will be a body of work which is displayed online. I am keen to show my early dabbling with animation, and using the skills learnt on this first module, add a dimension of interactivity to some of my work. I’m going to aim big, with my ideas and try to overcome as many hurdles as possible that i will no doubt be faced with along the way.

Starting new work through experimentation

Tomorrow I intend to start sketching and use the University stop frame animation suite to have a play around turning pencil doodles into some kind of moving short story… it will definitely involve an egg.

 

an egg

No eggs will be harmed in the making of the cartoon.

Image courtesy of http://www.freedigitalphotos.net 

More info here from the bebo group, the scotch egg appreciation society. I must add that I have no official affiliation with this group, but I’m happy that they are dedicated to the cause of tasty picnic snacks.